The rug doctor

Paddy is our beautiful fawn brindle greyhound.  So striking and unusual are his markings that people often stop us to comment on them.  I came up with what I thought was a rather witty one-liner, “yes, he’ll make a lovely rug one day,” which I used on such occasions.  I don’t any more.

One day, at the dog park, we met a large bouncy malamute; the husky’s somewhat dimmer cousin.  The malamute’s person made the usual complimentary comments on Paddy’s markings and I deployed my usual remark.  The malamute’s person proceeded to tell me that she used to be a social worker in an Inuit community in northern Canada.  She’d  visited one of her clients whose dog had become ill.  A few weeks later, visiting the same client, she enquired how the dog was.  The woman motioned towards the latest addition to her floor covering, “your standing on him,” she said.

One thought on “The rug doctor

Leave a Reply

